How I became a health coach

It gives me immense pleasure to introduce my first guest author, Dr. Deepti Kulkarni! Deepti is a doctor and has done her post graduation in diabetes management. Just like her cooking, Deepti ensures that there is ‘right amount of sweetness’ in her writing too!  Thank you Deepti for accepting my invitation and I wish you will continue writing!

I would like to thank you Mugdha, who suggested me to write an article in her blog. I love her blog and always look forward to read her articles. And when she gave me a chance to write an article, I was thrilled and worried sort of. I really do not have experience in writing a blog. But I do have a passion for teaching people how to become healthy and take care of risk factors of lifestyle related disorders. So thank you Mugdha once again for giving me this opportunity to write in her blog. Here I want to share with all of people why and how I became a health coach and why this is so dear to me.

photo (3)So let me start with introducing myself. My name is Deepti A. Kulkarni. I am a doctor from India. I have specialized in Diabetes management from Mumbai India. Currently while going through process of licensing exams in US, I share my knowledge as health coach. Why? Because I love sharing my knowledge and expertise with people about nutrition and exercise. Oh and I forgot to mention before that I am married to a wonderful man and also I have a lot of life partners such as Type 1 Diabtes Mellitus, Hypothyroidism, Insulin pump, glucose sensors, glucometer, exercise etc. But I know, my husband is the best life partner I have got amongst all.

I was diagnosed with type 1 Diabetes when I was 7 years old and that changed my life for better. In fact my whole family’s lifestyle was changed for better. All the unhealthy snacks and meals were replaced with foods recommended by my dietician and my doctor. It became my Mom’s passion to cook food in such a way that we as a kid did not feel deprived of anything and still followed what our doctor’s told us to follow. My sister being my copy cat( Sorry Kalyani for calling you that) followed me and she was also diagnosed with Type 1 diabetes a year later.. All these events led us to meet a number of doctors and other kids who were in the same boat as of us. My parents formed a group called “ Juvenile Diabetic Parents Association of India” and we started conducting annual camps for kids with diabetes and their parents to educate about diabetes mangement. And it turned out most of the questions asked by parents were on the food part. So my parents and few others took active part in creating a menu from different part of India to show other people what is right and what is wrong in a healthy diet…I still remember one incident when one of the ophtalmologist participated in the camp ( We have doctors to explain about management and also screening for diabetes complications) exclaimed in excitement “ This is such a nice food!! I always thought Diabetic Diet is boring and unappetizing!”.. Oh how we laughed on that!

All these life events changed my life for better and I was drawn towards impact of nutrition on lifestyle. I did M.B.B.S. from Nagpur India and did my post graduation in the field of Diabetes from Mumbai India. Managing people with diabetes at different ages and counselling them changed my outlook. I met my husband and got married at the end of my post graduation. My husband( the real and the best life partner) is also a foodie and he has type 2 Diabetes. After coming into USA, I was introduced to different international cuisines and also to my glucose sensor. ( Got another life partner through my husband.;) just kidding)

It became my passion to read about ingredients and to try these different dishes at home so that I would acurately know the immediate impact of different foods on blood glucose level. So my kitchen became my experimental lab and me, my husband and our friends became guinapigs. 😉 . For example I learnt that if I do not use any fermentation techinique for preparing food, I feel full for long time and I do not have a sugar high and sugar crash. So that way I learnt to make no grain no fermentation idly. We both love pizza, but the crust outside has fermented white flour, so I started using no fermented batter made from pulses to increase protein in the pizza. Or making dressing with tofu and nuts to reduce saturated fats in the dressing or spread.

idlyThis is one of the recipe that I would like to share with all of you- Name- No grain, No fermentation Idlies. Ingredient- 1) 1 cup moong daal- soak in water for 3-4 hours. 2) 1 cup urad daal- soak in water for 3-4 hours along with some fenugreek seeds( about 1/4th teaspoon). Procedure- Grind both daals individually with very little water to make a fine paste. Mix both daals together. Batter should be as thick as possible. Put some cloth in individual idly molds so that this batter will not run down through holes in the molds. Steam them for 10-12 minutes. Cool them and enjoy with hot sambhar and chutney. I usually do not add salt in the batter but if you like you can add it. These idlies will not be as fluffy as regular fermentated idlies but they do not cause steep rise in the blood sugar and increase protein.

Besides giving advice about food lifestyle changes, I am also passionate about different exercises and meditation. I believe that just taking medicines for lifestyle related disorders and not taking into consideration nutrition aspect puts people in worse condition. My husband and I both are passionate about helping people so that they either prevent or delay life style related disorders such as Diabetes, Hypertension, Obesity and related disorders and be healthy.

Well this is my story of how I decided to become a health coach. I once again thank you Mugdha for giving me the opportunity to write in her blog. If someone has questions or comments, please let me know. I would be happy to answer. You can send me an email at dskdeepti9@gmail.com or call me at 732-510-8902.

Leave a Reply

