Connecting dots!

Couple of weeks ago, I happened to stumble upon ‘Humans of New York’ Facebook page through some friends. Out of curiosity, I skimmed through some of the posts. It is pretty addictive I must confess. HONY, as fondly called by its fans, is a blog by Brandon. In his exact words, he is making an online photographic census of people of NY. He walks on the streets of NY, talks to the people and takes pictures of the interesting people.

I particularly like his pictures of small kids. Every time he meets kids on the street, he asks them what do they want to become when they grow up? It is very interesting to read their responses. One of the best responses I read so far was when a kid simply said that he wants to be taller! Innocent isn’t it? There is this age, when kids are innocent… that doesn’t last too long these days, I am just saying… after that they know what sounds fancier, politically correct! Some older kids confidently say that they want to be a doctor, a police or a nurse. Another gem was this little guy who said he wants to be a graffiti artist. Interesting! Then Brandon asked him, “What do you think is the toughest part of being a graffiti artist?” To this the kid was baffled but his mom replied ‘running from the cops’! Hum here comes a grown up response!

This made me think what did I want to be since I was a child? A doctor? PhD? was definitely not one of my top 10 or even top 100th answers! I always thought that was not for me. Then, a writer like my dad? Humm nah…Once my Marathi teacher gave me a zero for an essay on a mid term! So that was out of question! Well, at different stages of my life, I wanted to be something different! And at one stage of my life, more than I, people around me were worried what I was going to be in my life. 🙂

I was a total ‘nautanky’ (a drama queen) when I was young. I used to always behave as if I was in front of camera all the time! So naturally all my uncles and aunts used to say that I will become an actress. On the other hand, I was a tom boy too! My grandpa and I used to watch all types of sports together. I remember he used to set up an alarm for 1 am or 2 am to watch a match! I still do that 🙂 Those days I used to love tennis and would dream about becoming Steffi Graf. During ‘Indian Idol’ or ‘Sa Re Ga Ma’ days I would think I will become a singer (well I am/was more than a bathroom singer definitely! ). But I had so much air that people had to ask me twice or thrice otherwise I wouldn’t sing. Soon people got tired so I stopped singing… 🙂

When Sush and Ash conquered international beauty pageants, I wanted to be a Miss India! I was among many others who had stayed up all night and watched them win! At that same year, there was a beauty contest in my neighborhood and since I had all my ‘homework’ done correctly, I walked the ramp in style and answered all questions politically! That’s all they do right? My ambitions were fueled when judges made me Miss Ashtavinayak Nagar (my society)! But my height just gave up at 5 feet 3″ and so did my aspiration to become a model! All of these ambitions and desire came with an expiry date! A week or two!

There is this famous quote by Steve Jobs about the events that come in your life and won’t make sense at that time. But in the future when you look at them you can see their effect/or purpose in your life. “You can’t connect the dots looking forward; you can only connect them looking backwards. So you have to trust that the dots will somehow connect in your future. You have to trust in something – your gut, destiny, life, karma, whatever. Because believing that the dots will connect down the road will give you the confidence to follow your heart even when it leads you off the well worn path; and that will make all the difference. ”

So which of these dots connect and make my current picture? Or it is not the correct time to look backwards?

When we are looking back, it is so easy to look at the few glaring dots and assume that they make our picture. Remember when we were child? There were these pictures which give one image when looked at an angle and completely different image if we look carefully! These ‘dots’ may seem the glaring ones in my life but I think there were several silent dots which were making me. I just have to connect them!

By the way… Happy New Year guys!

Leave a Reply

